A Congenital Deformity

Lots of people have bunions. Sometimes people (women in particular) develop them over time due to the shoes they wear. Dancers get them. I was born with them. Not to be too dramatic, but my feet have always hurt. In retrospect, a large part of that was because I wore shoes that were too tight, but it was impossible on my family’s budget to buy shoes that didn’t. My feet were too wide.

Last October, I started developing a new problem: the second toe on my right foot was sore at the base. The pain began while hiking over rocks, so I attributed it to shoes without a hard enough sole. Then by December, it hurt too much to play tennis.

I googled it, and for a while the closest thing I could find was Metatarsalgia, which is a generic term for pain in the ball of the foot and metatarsals. Drilling down a bit, I found Morton’s Neuroma, which is a painful ball of tissue, but usually between the third and fourth toes. Mine was underneath the second.

And then I found Capsulitis of the Second Toe: “It is generally believed that capsulitis of the second toe is a result of abnormal foot mechanics, where the ball of the foot beneath the toe joint takes an excessive amount of weight-bearing pressure. Certain conditions or characteristics can make a person prone to experiencing excessive pressure on the ball of the foot. These most commonly include a severe bunion deformity …”

Oh.

I always said that when my kids were big enough, I’d finally fix my feet. Well, that time has come.

 

 

Leave a Reply

