26 Days

The Good:  I can tell that things are improving in the big picture. The last three days my husband and I have gone for real walks (me on my knee scooter) totaling .8 miles, 1.5 miles, and 1.2 miles. I’m exhausted when I get home, but I’m feeling good about it over all. I’m also handling the knee scooter better, which helps. Our town has a million cracks in the sidewalk, some quite large, and I’ve learned to jump them 🙂

The Bad: While scootering, I’ve picked up some potentially bad habits, one of which is pressing down hard on the handlebars, particularly up hill. I’ve managed to bruise the palms of my hands so badly that under my right forefinger it hurts to press on it at all. I’m going to have to figure out how to do that differently.

Meanwhile, I still spend most days reclined in the bed, with the wedge at my back and my foot elevated. The other day a friend came over and I ate in a cushioned chair sitting up with my foot on the seat of my knee scooter. That was okay for 45 minutes. Then last night we went to dinner at a restaurant and did the same thing–a little over an hour sitting in a chair with my foot up. After that, I have to go home and lie down.

The Ugly: Sleeping is still really difficult. Last night, I went to bed at 10 pm, lay awake until 11:30, woke up at 2 am, lay awake until 4, and then woke up 5 times between 4 and 8 before giving up. It isn’t that I’m in pain, per se. My foot feels awkward, it burns at the ball of my foot, the scars sting, my ankle feels like it’s in a vice grip, it throbs … each in turn. I lie on my side and it feels like I’m contorting it. I can’t relax. The height feels wrong. And so on.

 

Leave a Reply

